FINE level 1: Foundation Toolkit

This is the first level in the FINE programme, which introduces the scope of family-centred developmental care and the evidence that supports it. This is a two-day course with presentations, demonstrations and interactive workshops.

Who should attend?

The course is recommended for anyone working with infants and families in hospital settings, including:

  • Neonatal nurses and midwives
  • Neonatologists
  • Nursery nurses
  • Medical staff
  • Healthcare assistants
  • Paediatric nurses
  • Therapists working with neonates.

What is included in the course?

The programme covers the scope and evidence supporting this approach and explores the practical aspects of implementation. Topics include:

  • Preterm brain, motor and sensory development
  • Parent infant relationship and parent’s journey
  • Observing and understanding infant behaviour
  • Kangaroo care
  • Baby-led feeding
  • Managing stress and pain.

When?

We are taking bookings for our Birmingham course. See below for further dates coming soon.

Birmingham – Monday, 13 and Tuesday, 14 January 2020

Book your place

Book online for FINE Level 1 - Birmingham. If you wish to make multiple / group bookings please call us on 020 7387 1122.
Book now

Future FINE Level 1 courses

Crewe – Monday, 16 and Tuesday, 17 March 2020 (Bookings opening soon)

London – Monday, 20 and Tuesday, 21 April 2020 (Bookings opening soon)

Edinburgh – Monday, 8 and Tuesday, 9 June 2020 (Bookings opening soon)

Manchester – Monday, 14 and Tuesday, 15 September 2020 (Bookings opening soon)

If you have any questions, please contact training@bliss.org.uk.

Courses organised by other FINE centres

The below courses are not organised by Bliss. Bliss are unable to answer questions regarding the application process, invoicing or event details. Please contact the relevant FINE centre by using the contact details associated with the course.

Antrim - Thursday, 10 October and Friday, 11 October. Contact Claire McGinley to book your place

London - Monday, 25 November and Tuesday, 26 November. Register online with UCLH. Contact Gillian Kennedy with any queries

Bristol - Thursday, 28 November and Friday, 29 November. Contact Becky Elson to book your place

Essex - Friday, 10 January and Saturday, 11 January. Contact Michelle Sweeting to book your place

Essex - Friday, 24 January and Saturday, 25 January. Contact Michelle Sweeting to book your place

If you have any questions, please contact the Training and Events team.

If you are interested in increasing your knowledge regarding family-centred care, find out about the FINE Level 2: Practical Skills

Sign up to receive the Bliss Journal

Sign up to Bliss' e-newsletter and receive news and updates from Bliss.
I want to receive the Bliss Journal